Document new "already-merged" rule for branch -d
v1.7.0-rc0~18^2 (branch -d: base the "already-merged" safety on the branch it merges with, 2009-12-29) taught ‘git branch’ a new heuristic for when it is safe to delete a branch without forcing the issue. It is safe to delete a branch "topic" without second thought if: - the branch "topic" is set up to pull from a (remote-tracking, usually) branch and is fully merged in that "upstream" branch, or - there is no branch.topic.merge configuration and branch "topic" is fully merged in the current HEAD. Update the man page to acknowledge the new rules. Signed-off-by: Jonathan Nieder <jrnieder@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Junio C Hamano <gitster@pobox.com>
Jonathan Nieder committed
Apr 15, 2010 at 02:25 UTC
fff0d0abdde6729606824688c2acac72db643e65
1 file changed
+3
-1
Documentation/git-branch.txt
+3
-1
@@ -63,7 +63,9 @@ way to clean up all obsolete remote-tracking branches.
63
OPTIONS
64
-------
65
-d::
66
- Delete a branch. The branch must be fully merged in HEAD.
66
+ Delete a branch. The branch must be fully merged in its
67
+ upstream branch, or in `HEAD` if no upstream was set with
68
+ `--track` or `--set-upstream`.
69
70
-D::
71
Delete a branch irrespective of its merged status.