1 ---
2 title: Downgrading to a free user account plan
3 ---
4
5 import shared from '~/shared.js'
6
7 <Note>
8
9 **Note:** This article only applies to users of the public npm registry.
10
11 </Note>
12
13 If you have a paid user account, but no longer need private packages, you can downgrade your paid organization to a free organization. When you downgrade from a paid to a free organization, you will lose the ability to install and publish private packages at the end of your last paid billing cycle. Your private packages will _not_ be made publicly visible when you downgrade to a free plan.
14
15 1. <>{shared['user-login'].text}</>
16
17 <>{shared['user-login'].image}</>
18
19 2. <>{shared['billing-info'].text}</>
20
21 <>{shared['billing-info'].image}</>
22
23 3. <>{shared['billing-downgrade-selection'].text}</>
24
25 <>{shared['billing-downgrade-selection'].image}</>
26
27 4. <>{shared['billing-downgrade-confirm'].text}</>
28
29 <>{shared['billing-downgrade-confirm'].image}</>